Cambodia II: Siem Reap & Angkor Wat

I went to visit Cambodia and this is part two of the journey. I took so many pictures so I had to split the trip up into two posts! :) First I went to beautiful Phnom Penh and now let's continue with Siem Reap and Angkor Wat. One morning it was time to leave the capital behind. I took a bus from Phnom Penh to Siem Reap via the scenic countryside of Cambodia.
After a long busride with romantic Cambodian music videos on all screens as entertainment, we stopped at a market outside of the city. They had quite the selection, such as fried spiders and insects, but I decided to go for sliced mango instead ;) I finally arrived in Siem Reap, got into a cab and went to our hotel to meet up with my friends from Sweden.
I got a bright green room that gave me a lot of positive energy and a comfy bed, so I was more than satisfied with my room for the stay. After our reunion the boys and I went for a walk around the area to grasp our new surroundings for the days to come. We also tried fish spa! :D
Very early morning on the next day, it was time to get up and explore Angkor Wat! We left really early to be able to see the sun rise over Angkor Wat.
A pretty start of the day! Such a beautiful reflection in the water... Afterwards we had breakfast before taking in more of Angkor Wat and the rest of the area. So much to see in the whole 'village' of temples. I really liked Bayon with the serene stone faces and Ta Prohm (the Tomb Raider temple), with trees growing as if they had melted over the temple walls.
Back in Siem Reap we got massages again. Later it was time for dinner at Champey (one more frangipani flower-related experience in Cambodia). We had fried rice, served in pineapple boats and decorated with orchids and other yummy dishes. 
Afterwards we went to Pub street. The boys heard I had never had a "bucket", so they ordered a couple for us to share at Temple bar. I got a t-shirt with our order of buckets, saying "Khmer and proud of it". :D Such soft cotton though, def going to sleep in it from now on!
What an amazing trip. I have so many wonderful memories from Cambodia to bring back home with me. Next up, I got a flight to meet Christian in Malaysia! ♥


Kommentarer


Kommentera inlägget här:


Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback

MY EXCHANGE IN SINGAPORE

Writes for stress-relief, seeker, green-eyed, adventurer, music-lover, inspiration gatherer, photography-devotée, 25, daily student of the art of impatience.

RSS 2.0