Cambodia I: Phnom Penh & Koh Dach

I went to Cambodia! First I went to beautiful Phnom Penh. I stayed in the city, ate the local Khmer curry and did day excursions. I travelled on my own to Cambodia as a solo female traveller and I was feeling very safe, even at the night market. Although I recommend taking a cab at night and not walking the city like I did (with my camera, hehe). I was still feeling safe but afterwards I realized it was a risk that was not worth taking anyways, just to be extra careful :) Glad I made this trip on my own still. 
Cambodia is wonderful and I would not have wanted to miss it while living in South East Asia. I arrived in the city and enjoyed a walk around the area.
 
I went to a book store and was simply soaking up the atmosphere, taking a few snapshots of what I saw. Later I found a driver that took me further around the city sightseeing some more.
Went and saw beautifully decorated temples, courtyards and took a few pictures in that beautiful sunlight... :)
I believe that these simply were everyday scenes of the city, but I enjoyed seeing them. :)
I also went to the market, which was fun. Flowers, fresh fruit, rice, some cute animals, friendly locals and various delicacies... I looked at all the stands, met the locals and bought a bunch of delicious mango and beautifully presented pineapples, all for a dollar or so. I got some change in Riel, the local currency. I love collecting a few coins and notes from all trips around the world. :)
After sunset the sightseeing trip turned into an evening tour of the city, everything decorated with scenic lights, from official buildings to an amusement park.
On the next day I went to Koh Dach, the Silk Island. My driver from the day before suggested it. I met him early in the morning to take a day trip exploring new surroundings outside of the city.
Aside from all the pretty views and friendly locals, there were beautiful animals and cute children everywhere.
 
One house had a pet monkey that was sitting on the dog, and hanging on his owners arm while he was carrying his grandchild. :)
I went to a monastery that had a favorite exotic flower of mine, the frangipani blooming in their courtyard. And I got to meet a real munk
(Want to hear a confession about my meeting with the munk? I made a foreign fool of myself, sitting on his mat (before he came out, luckily) instead of sitting on the tile floor... So embarassing, haha. You are welcome for the laughs, prospect munks that saw it all! :D)
In the evening I went to the Phnom Penh night market for a brief visit, but after a long day on Koh Dach I was looking forward to a good nights sleep. 
The next day it was time to leave the capital, I had friends to meet and more to see! :) So I took a bus to travel all the way to Siem Reap.


Kommentarer


Kommentera inlägget här:


Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback

MY EXCHANGE IN SINGAPORE

Writes for stress-relief, seeker, green-eyed, adventurer, music-lover, inspiration gatherer, photography-devotée, 25, daily student of the art of impatience.

RSS 2.0